top of page


la mure mountain road.jpg

I'm a historian and writer based from Lexington, Kentucky. After calling Washington, DC home for 16 great years, my family returned to the Bluegrass.


I'm trained as a cultural and social historian of the modern Middle East, and I like to use small, personal stories to illuminate a bigger picture. I write mainly about the places I know best (Morocco, Kentucky, DC, and the Outer Banks), but I'm open to pitches and ideas from anywhere.

I'm currently working on two book projects: a novel about a college rock band who makes it big(gish) and attempts a reunion tour, and a social history of tea and sugar in modern Morocco (a project that came out of my doctoral dissertation).

I did my B.A. at Carleton College, my M.A. at the George Washington University, and a PhD in History at Georgetown. I served as the Senior Assistant Dean for Research and Special Initiatives at the Elliott School of International Affairs at GW and a Professorial Lecturer in International Affairs, Middle East Studies, and Geography. 

I am on the Board of Box2Box, a Lexington non-profit that supports refugees through soccer and after-school tutoring support. I am also a Fellow at the Tangier American Legation Institute for Moroccan Studies. I have previously served on the Editorial Committee for the Middle East Report (MERIP). My research and writing has been supported by an ACLS/Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship, a Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Award, and an American Institute for Maghrib Studies Fellowship.

I live in Lexington, Kentucky with my wife, Judy, our kids, Gibson and Maggie, and our cat, Arthur. We love the Beatles. 

My full academic CV is here.

other cropped headshot.jpg
bottom of page